Skip to content
Beyoncé was ***Flawless at the VMAs and some other people performed too, so let’s talk about that.

And we’re back! Sorry for the slight delay in getting this post up, I was just waiting for HQ video links to be reuploaded after they all got taken down directly after the show. Now that’s sorted, we can get on with it! 

Okay, so the VMAs were on yesterday, and although there wasn’t any real big, iconic controversy for us to talk about this year, it was still a lot of fun and Beyoncé slayed every-damn-thing. Let’s watch the performances and talk winners, yeah?

First things first, here is a link to HQ videos of all the performances, in case you missed the show yesterday.

Beyoncé

Britney DWAD dead gif

 

That outfit, the hair, the make up, the stage. It all worked for me. I mean, Bey is just so easily the hardest working pop star out there currently, delivering ***flawless performances one after the other. This was ev-er-y-thing. Partition, Yoncé and Flawless were my favourite parts of the performance, as expected, since they’re my faves from the album.

 

Ariana Grande, Nicki Minaj and Jessie J

I adore Ari but bb gurl needs to work on her stage presence and enunciation. She has one of the best voices in the industry at the moment but literally I have no idea what she’s saying when she’s singing sometimes, it’s just all these amazing, superhuman notes.

Nicki looked so damn hot. Like I don’t care if her entire body is made of silicone, she works it. Overall I really liked her performance but it was a little like, I don’t know. I won’t remember it the way I remember Miley last year or Britney circa 1999-2003 (and 2007 for a different reason). Homegirl needs to up her controversy game.

As for Jessie J, everyone’s favourite former bi-sexual (side-eyeing), well, this song is a good reminder why you don’t collab with singers with better voices than you. Jessie’s voice is fine, right, but then Ari came out and just destroyed everything Jessie had done in about 2.5 seconds. Oh, and poor Nicki, whose body is so out of control that she couldn’t even keep it in her dress.

 

Usher and Nicki Minaj

This is not my favourite Usher song, but he’s just such a great performer, I would happily watch him any day. The part where he headbutts Nicki’s ass was my fave, mostly because it was just ridiculous.

 

Iggy Azalea and Not Rihanna

This was just fine. Like, the costumes were hot and all but overall it was just sort of nothing. It desperately needed choreo that exceeded the walk-and-pose. It was really cute seeing Charlie XCX singing along in the audience, though.

 

Sam Smith

I basically took a nap during this because what do you expect me to do when you sing a ballad at the VMAs? There should be an actual rule that says you can’t do that.

 

Maroon 5

Well, it looks like the last three videos have been taken down, so I’m just going to go from my memory. I’m sure if you check the link again later that the videos will be back up, though. Maroon 5 performed as well as a band can perform at a show that’s mostly big pop numbers with pyro and costumes and the whole shebang. I really like Adam Levine, though, so I’m probs hella biased.

 

5 Seconds of Summer

So awkies but I actually don’t remember seeing them perform at all. I still barely even know who they are though? #gettingold

 

Taylor Swift

Taylor was entertaining, as expected. The song is bubblegum pop and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. In fact, I’m about it. if I was to create a playlist of feel good pop songs, “Shake It Off” would definitely make the cut.

 

And the winners were:

LYRIC VIDEO

5 Seconds of Summer, “Don’t Stop”

Beyonce eyebrow raise clapping gif

Great lyric video, guys. 

FEMALE VIDEO

Katy Perry, “Dark Horse,” feat. Juicy J

Mila Kunia nodding okay gif

I mean, sure. It’s a good video. Better than Fancy? Absolutely not. But it’s fine.

MALE VIDEO

Ed Sheeran, “Sing”

Stassi Schroeder whatever gif

I so don’t care about Ed Sheeran. What I absolutely DO care about, though, is the fact that Miley called him an asshole while he was walking up to receive his award.

1408933423_mileysheeranasshole

POP VIDEO

Ariana Grande, “Problem,” feat. Iggy Azalea

Taylor Schilling Piper oitnb orange o rly what gif

Okay, I love this song, but can we be real for two seconds right now? The video to “Problem” sucks all the ass in the world, and in NO REALM is it better than “Fancy”. Like what even has happened here? This is like a Britney-level snubbing. I’m not about it.

HIP HOP VIDEO

Drake, “Hold On, We’re Going Home”

Britney Spears X Factor clapping

Yeassssssss. Best.

ROCK VIDEO

Lorde, “Royals”

Paris Hilton simple life gif stare

Sure, why not?

ARTIST TO WATCH

Fifth Harmony, “Miss Movin’ On”

Leonardo DiCaprio stare glare Titanic gif

You reckon? All right, if you say so.

Also, let’s talk about this for two seconds:

Fifth Harmony celebrating
Katy Perry who are they?

VIDEO OF THE YEAR

Miley Cyrus, “Wrecking Ball”

J Law Jennifer Lawrence nodding okay gif

I mean… again. Seems like an odd choice compared to some of the other nominees, but I like the video and all so I guess it’s fine? Miley got a homeless guy to accept her award for her while she sat on the sidelines, tearing up, while Katy sat nearby being like “are you for real right now though?” Shady Katy was in full force tonight, y’all. Shady Perry aside, it was a nice moment for a good cause.

Miley crying Katy shade vmas gif

MICHAEL JACKSON VANGUARD AWARD

Beyoncé

Britney DWAD dead gif

I mean, this was just everything. It stole the entire show and was the most well-deserved award of the night by miles.

 

And now, here are all the boring awards that you don’t care about, presented without commentary because who’s got the time?

MTV CLUBLAND

Zedd, “Stay The Night,” feat. Hayley Williams

COLLABORATION

Beyoncé and Jay Z, “Drunk in Love”

SOCIAL MESSAGE VIDEO

Beyoncé, “Pretty Hurts”

CINEMATOGRAPHY

Beyoncé, “Pretty Hurts”

CHOREOGRAPHY

Sia, “Chandelier”

ART DIRECTION

Arcade Fire, “Reflektor”

EDITING

Eminem, “Rap God”

VISUAL EFFECTS

OK Go, “The Writing’s on the Wall”

DIRECTION

DJ Snake and Lil John, “Turn Down For What”

 

The Emmys are starting now-ish, who’s psyched?! xo

Related posts:

Katy Perry and Riff Raff dressed up in Britney and Justin’s iconic double denim outfits, and other things that happened on the 2014 MTV VMAs red carpet.

The 2014 MTV VMA nominees, and PCP’s picks.

The Emmy Awards’ boss is under fire for category fraud.

The 2014 Emmy nominations. The good, the bad, and the awful snubs I will never get over.

The 2014 Teen Choice Award nominations and PCP’s picks!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Good write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s site, maintain up the nice operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

    September 22, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The 2014 Emmys red carpet. The hits, the misses, and Lena fucking Dunham. | PopCulturePerversion

So what do you have to say about that, then?

